2. Study Abroad
  3. Undergraduates


During the 2nd semester of B3, KUPES students will study abroad as exchange students. Required language skills in English, French or German as well as basic knowledge about European society, politics and economics are obtained through KUPES in B2. After a period of study in Japan, students will relocate to a European city where they will encounter new values and experiences which will promote their personal development.

In the courses provided abroad, students will have numerous opportunities to engage with others and present their own opinions through seminars, group work and tutorials. In this way students will become more adept at communicating with people from different cultures, e.g., in discussion and team-work activities.

In order to fully appreciate the culture, history, sense of values and social background of their host county, students will refine their language skills and relevant knowledge before studying abroad. Some students will engage in volunteer activities. Studying abroad as undergraduates will be a valuable experience, since students will have the opportunity to meet with their foreign counterparts coming to Europe from around the world, build global personal connections and find direction with respect to their future careers.

Once students decide their destinations for study abroad, they start actual preparation to apply exchange programmes.
KUPES students can obtain helpful information to plan and prepare for their study abroad through moodle system.

Inter-University Exchange Programme

  • School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS), University of London (UK)
  • Paris II Pantheon Assas University (France)
  • Université de Lille (France)
  • Paris Nanterre University (France)
  • Paris Diderot University - Paris 7 (France)
  • University of Graz (Australia)
  • Charles University (Czech Republic)
  • Leiden University (The Netherlands)
  • Ca' Foscari University of Venice (Italy)
  • University of Bologna (Italy)
  • Jagiellonian University (Poland)
  • Nicolaus Copernicus University (Poland)
  • Sofia University St. Kliment Ohridski (Bulgaria)
  • Trier University (Germany)
  • University of Kiel (Germany)
  • Technical University of Munich (Germany)
  • Vrije Universiteit Brussel (Belgium)
  • Université Libre de Bruxelles (Belgium) ※Students of Faculty of Global Human Sciences ONLY
  • University of Barcelona(Spain)
  • University of Basel (Switzerland)

Inter-Faculty Exchange Programme

Faculty of Global Human Sciences

  • University of Essex (UK)
  • University of Kent (UK)
  • University of Sheffield (UK)
  • University of Birmingham (UK)
  • University of Manchester (UK)
  • University of Naples "L'Orientale" (Italy)
  • University of Bologna (Italy)
  • FH Joanneum University of Applied Sciences (Austria)
  • Autonomous University of Barcelona (Spain)
  • University of Aarhus (Denmark)
  • Technische Universität Darmstadt (Germany)
  • Technical University of Dresden (Germany)
  • University of Hamburg (Germany)
  • Free University of Berlin (Germany)
  • Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg (Germany)
  • Leipzig University (Germany)
  • University of Bergen (Norway)
  • University of Helsinki (Finland)
  • Grenoble Alpes University (France)
  • Université de Rennes 1 (France)
  • Saint-Louis University (Belgium)
  • Ghent University (Belgium)
  • Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (KUL) (Belgium)
  • University of Warsaw (Poland)
  • Babeş-Bolyai University (Romania)
  • Vilnius Gediminas Technical University (Lithuania)
  • Eotvos Lorand University (Hungary)

Faculty of Law

  • University of Essex (UK)
  • University of Kent (UK)
  • The University of Dundee (UK)
  • Queen Mary, University of London (UK)
  • Bocconi University (Italy)
  • University of Milan (Italy)
  • Management Center Innsbruck (Austria)
  • University of Osnabrück (Germany)
  • University of Hamburg (Germany)
  • Berlin School of Economics and Law (Germany)
  • Sciences Po Bordeaux (France)
  • Sciences Po Lille (France)
  • Saint-Louis University (Belgium)
  • University of Liège (Belgium)
  • Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (KUL) (Belgium)
  • Eotvos Lorand University (Hungary)
  • University of Coimbra (Portugal) ※Suspension of sending Kobe U students

Faculty of Economics

  • National University of Ireland, Galway (Ireland)
  • Dublin City University (Ireland)
  • University of Essex (UK)
  • University of Kent (UK)
  • Bocconi University (Italy)
  • Tilburg University (Netherlands)
  • University of Barcelona (Spain)
  • Kiel University (Germany)
  • Berlin School of Economics and Law (Germany)
  • University of Marburg (Germany)
  • ESSEC business school (France)
  • Saint-Louis University (Belgium)
  • Ghent University (Belgium)
  • University of Liège (Belgium)
  • Université catholique de Louvain (UCL) (Belgium)
  • Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (KUL) (Belgium)
  • University of Gdansk (Poland)
  • Warsaw School of Economics (Poland)
  • Babeş-Bolyai University (Romania)
  • University of Aarhus (Denmark) ※Suspension of sending Kobe U students
  • Budapest Business School (Hungary)

  • (As of Nov 2018)

Kobe University

Center for International Education Program Coordination Section

Current Programs

Programs to study Europe

Programs to study Europe

Programs to study Japan

Programs for International Students